JRF and JRHT appoint new trustees

JRF and JRHT has appointed four new trustees to its board, the organisations announced today.

The new trustees will replace Dame Mavis McDonald DCB, Don Brand CBE and Jas Bains MBE who have stepped down from the Board.

Saphieh Ashtiany, Deborah Cadman OBE and Carol Tannahill will take up their appointments from December 2016. Paul Jenkins will join the Board early 2017.

Saphieh Ashtiany, principal of Ashtiany Associates and visiting Professorial Fellow at Queen Mary University of London, is widely recognised as an expert in equality and employment law, and most recently was Partner and Head of Employment and Discrimination Group at Nabarro LLP.

Deborah Cadman OBE is currently the Chief Executive of Suffolk County Council, a post she has held since 2011. In this time, she has overseen the development and delivery of place based collaborative working with public sector organisations across Suffolk.

For the last two years, Paul Jenkins OBE has been the Chief Executive of the Tavistock and Portman NHS Foundation Trust, providing clinical services in the NHS and a wide range of training and education for health, social care and other professionals. Paul was also previously Chief Executive of the Mental Health Charity Rethink Mental Illness.

Carol Tannahill is Director of the Glasgow Centre for Population Health and Chief Social Policy Adviser to the Scottish Government, where her work focusses on issues of inequality, evidence-informed policy and the relationship between national policy and local delivery.

Tony Stoller, Chair of Trustees, said:

“JRF and JRHT would like to thank Don, Mavis and Jas for their outstanding contributions to the leadership to both organisations.

“We are looking forward to welcoming the new trustees to the Board. They bring a wide range of skills, experience and expertise which will enable the Board to continue to provide strategic direction and leadership to the organisation during changing times.”

Earlier this month, JRF and JRHT announced the appointment of Campbell Robb as Chief Executive to replace Julia Unwin CBE, who steps down at the end of 2016 after ten years as Chief Executive.